today’s thoughts

– Reading. I finished a book today. A collection of short stories; they were just okay to read. I have one more book left in my collection (a Tony Parsons novel) and then I will have to purchase more.

– Film my day-to-day life. Yesterday, my friend told me about a TED talk about a man who decided to stitch together short clips of his everyday life to create a “one second every day” video. Cesar Kuriyama’s talk can be found here – his talk encouraged me to capture not only the fun and happy moments in life, but the mundane and sad ones, too.

– Sexual health. I went to the clinic again today for a routine check-up (£3.50 for the walk-in exam, woo) and I was telling my friend about it. To my surprise, he said he has never gone for an STD test. Ever. He is 28. How – in say, a decade of sexual activity – can someone have never gone for a test?! It boggles my mind. A lot of diseases are symptomless and thus can go unnoticed for years. Let this be a reminder to be shrewd about your sexual health and to make an appointment to get your bits checked out.

– Future plans. I’m just weighing up weather to stay in Chiang Mai until I have to leave Thailand (mid-May), or if I should visit Koh Lanta and enjoy some island life. Going to mull this one over for a few more days.

– Sounds. Why do I like the sound of birds chirping, but not the sound of my neighbour’s roosters’ crowing?

– Body hair. I grew out my armpit hair a few months ago. It’s definitely a somewhat divisive topic. I’ve been told it’s masculine. It’s not – if it were only a masculine trait, women would not naturally grow body hair. And it’s that double standard attitude that irritates me. Some guys are really chill about it though. And it’s always great when you meet fellow fuzzy ladies, or men who shave off all their body hair, because fuck it! Do what you want with your own body!

Leave a Reply

